Hip Hop Greats: Classic Raps – Various

Share This Post

Hip Hop Classics Cover ArtLabel: Rhino
Year: 1990

Click to Buy it From Amazon.Com

Song Listing

1. Rapper’s Delight- Sugarhill Gang
2. Fat Boys- Fat Boys
3. White Lines (Don’t Do It)- Grandmaster & Melle Mel
4. Roxanne, Roxanne- UTFO
5. Jam on It- Newcleus
6. It’s Like That- Run DMC
7. The Message- Grandmaster Flash and The Furious Five
8. Funk You Up- Sequence
9. The Breaks- Kurtis Blow
10. 8th Wonder- Sugarhill Gang


This collection reads like a who’s who of recorded old school rap.  Granted there are several key figures missing, but most never really recorded.  The version of “Rapper’s Delight” is the standard 7 minute version with the most  familiar verses. It also includes the full length version of “Jam On It” with all vocals intact. A seven minute version of “It’s Like That” is a dream come true for the Run DMC fanatic. “Roxanne, Roxanne” is a must own for any old school collection.  Great track. The same goes for “The Message.”

Overall there is not a single weak track on this disc.  If you want a perfect sampling of the genre, this is it. – JohnG

Author: JohnG

Administrator of OldSchoolHipHop.Com

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *