Breakin Soundtrack – Various

Share This Post


Breakin Cover ArtLabel: Mercury
Year: 1984

Click to Buy it From Amazon.Comlink


Song Listing

1. Breakin’…There’s No Stopping Us- Ollie & Jerry
2. Freakshow on the Dance Floor- Bar-Kay’s
3. Body Work- Hot Streak
4. 99 1/2- Carol Lynn Townes
5. Showdown- Ollie & Jerry
6. Heart of the Beat- 3V
7. Street People- Fire Fox
8. Cut It- Re-Flex
9. Ain’t Nobody- Rufus & Chaka Khan
10. Reckless- “The Glove” Taylor & David Storr


As the major motion picture industry scrambled to put out a “break dance movie” to cash in on what they perceived as a “new phenomenon” (it had already been around for several years by 1984 mind you) B-boys and wannabes flocked to theatres to see “Breakin'”. When the true heads saw what they paid their (roughly) $3.50 most were in HORROR at this watered down Hollywood spoof of the art known as Breakdancing. Instead of having a true representation of what music was REAL they offered these little ditties….Now on to the review…The highlight for me on this soundtrack (even though I’m NOT a fan of his) was the FIRST appearance of Ice-t, “reckless” was an up tempo rock inspired rap style over “the glove’s” scratches. Second (but strange) addition was Chaka’s “Ain’t Nobody”.  Overall this is NOT a Hip-Hop soundtrack but a hastily put together potpourri. – Submitted by White Shadow

I don’t think this album was intended to be a “hip – hop” record, it was just simply the music that accompanied the film. And this music rocks – 80’s funk at it’s best especially demonstrated on the Bar Kay’s funk classic “Freakshow on the Dancefloor”. This album was a multi-platinum #1 best-seller, why is this title deleted. UNIVERSAL MUSIC MUST RE-ISSUE THIS ALBUM ON CD – THE 80’s ARE BACK! – Submitted by Janet Reno

Author: JohnG

Administrator of OldSchoolHipHop.Com

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *