The Showdown: The Sugarhill Gang vs. Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five

Share This Post

Showdown Cover ArtLabel: Rhino
Year: 1999

Click to Buy it From Amazon.Com

Song Listing

1. Ice T & Chuck D Introduction/Pre-Game Show
2. Rapper’s Delight- Sugarhill Gang
3. The Message- Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
4. Round One Wrap Up
5. 8th Wonder- Sugarhill Gang
6. Scorpio- Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
7. Round Two Wrap Up
8. Kick it Love from 9 to 5- Sugarhill Gang
9. New York New York- Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
10. Round Three Wrap Up
11. Livin in the Fast Lane- Sugarhill Gang
12. Jesse- Grandmaster Melle Mel
13. Round Four Wrap Up
14. Apache- Sugarhill Gang
15. White Lines (Don’t Do It)- Grandmaster Flash & Melle Mel
16. Round Five Wrap Up
17. Showdown- The Furious Five Meets The Sugarhill Gang
18. One for the $- Sugarhill Gang & Grandmaster Melle Mel
19. Post Game Show


In reality, this so called battle is really a joke.  I don’t think any serious fan of hip hop thinks that a showdown between these two groups would ever happen in the first place and if it did Flash and the boys would dominate and humiliate.  In any case, it’s a good rundown of the two groups Sugar Hill Records records that Rhino has under it’s control. –  JohnG

Author: JohnG

Administrator of OldSchoolHipHop.Com

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *