Grandmaster Flash and The Furious Five – More of the Best

Share This Post

More of the Best of Flash CoverLabel: Rhino
Year: 1996

Click to Buy it From Amazon.Com

Song Listing

1. The Adventures of Grandmaster Flash on The Wheels of Steel- Grandmaster Flash
2. Flash to The Beat (Part 1)- Grandmaster Flash
3. Jesse- Grandmaster Melle Mel
4. Internationally Known- Grandmaster Melle Mel & The Furious Five
5. We Don’t Work for Free- Grandmaster Melle Mel & The Furious Five
6. Sign of the Times- Grandmaster Flash
7. Pump Me Up- Grandmaster Melle Mel & The Furious Five
8. Girls Love the Way He Spins- Grandmaster Flash
9. World War III- Grandmaster Melle Mel
10. Vice- Grandmaster Melle Mel
11. Style (Peter Gunn Theme) (extended remix version)- Grandmaster Flash
12. U Know What Time It is (extended scratch version)- Grandmaster Flash


This album does not contain many of the very big hits as “Message from Beat Street” does, but it still shows why GMF and the crew are as respected as they are today.

The CD kicks off with, “The Adventures of Grandmaster Flash on the Wheels of Steel” no doubt the most influential DJ song ever. It is completely made up of GMF on two turntables. After that comes “Flash to the Beat (Part 2)” a more singing synchronized type song which shows the F5 don’t just have rapping skills, they have vocal talent as well. Most of the songs on the CD are recordings of the band after they split apart because of disagreements, with GMF, Rahiem, and Kidd Creole going to Elektra with new recruits and Melle Mel, Cowboy, and Scorpio staying at Sugarhill also with new recruits. Grandmaster Melle Mel and the Furious Five recordings include “Internationally Known”, a boasting song introducing the new members, “We don’t work for free”, which sounds more like Motown than rap, “Pump me up” (my favorite by the crew) , where Melle Mel, Cowboy, and Scorpio release their lyrical talent, and others. Grandmaster Flash recordings include “Sign of the Times”, a song about problems in the world (not as hard hitting as “the message” though, “Girls love the ways he spins”, where the talent of GMF is rapped and shown by cutting and scratching (it does not really show just how good he really is if you ask me), “Style” a boasting song, and more.

If you are interested in what went down after the crew split up, then you should be interested in buying this CD. Though not as significant as “message from beat street”, it is still old school. Review Provided by Will C

Author: JohnG

Administrator of OldSchoolHipHop.Com

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *