Captain Rock – To the Future Shock

Share This Post


To The Future Shock Cover ArtLabel: Ol’ Skool Flava
Year: 2006

Click to Buy it From Amazon.Com


Song Listing

1. Cosmic Blast
2. Bongo Beat
3. House Of Rock
4. To The Future Shock
5. Return Of Captain Rock
6. You Stink
7. The Pure
8. Return Of Captain Rock Instrumental
9. House Of Rock ‘Dub’
10. You Stink ‘Dub’
11. You Stink Bonus Beat


I was never really into Captain Rock until a few years back. When I first played this fairly solid compilation was that I was sure I had never listened to a run of Captain Rock songs in row like this. But I’m glad I did. Captain Rock may not have the same name recognition these days as a few of his contemporaries, but he did enjoy some success in the mid 80’s.

The biggest thing I noticed from this disc is that Captain Rock experimented with several different styles. There are two ways to look at this. Was he just trying to change styles to find a hit out of one of them or was he just trying new things artistically to see what worked best for him. Either way, the results in most cases are positive.

There are some nice liner notes as well that contain a recent interview with the Captain himself. If you don’t own any Captain Rock, this is one to get. -JohnG

Author: JohnG

Administrator of OldSchoolHipHop.Com

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *