The Sugar Hill Records Story [BOX SET] – Various

Share This Post


Sugar Hill Records Box Cover ArtLabel: Profile
Year: 1990

Click to Buy it From Amazon.Com

Song Listing

DISC 1 1. Rapper’s Delight (Long  Version)- Sugarhill Gang
2. Funk You Up (Long Version)- The Sequence
3. Rapper’s Reprise (Jam-Jam)- Sugarhill Gang w/ The Sequence
4. Super-Wolf Can Do It (Short Version)- Super-Wolf
5. Hot Hot Summer Day- Sugarhill Gang
6. And You Know That (Short Version)- The Sequence
7. Freedom- Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
8. Monster Jam- Spoonie Gee & The Sequence
9. Baby Let’s Rap Now (Part 2)- The Moments
10. People Get On Up- Positive Force
1. 8th Wonder- Sugarhill Gang
2. That’s the Joint- Funky 4 + 1
3. The Birthday Party- Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
4. Check it Out- Wayne & Charlie (The Rapping Dummy)
5. The Adventures of Grandmaster Flash On The Wheels of Steel- Grandmaster Flash
6. Showdown- The Furious Five Meets The Sugarhill Gang
7. Let’s Dance (Make Your Body Move)- West Street Mob
8. Spoonie is Back- Spoonie Gee
9. Apache- Sugarhill Gang
10. It’s Nasty (Genius of Love) (Short Version)- Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
1. Hey Fellas (Long Version)- Trouble Funk
2. Sing a Simple Song- West Street Mob
3. It’s Good to Be the Queen- Sylvia
4. The Lover in You- Sugarhill Gang
5. The Message- Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
6. Whip it- Treacherous Three w/ Philippe Wynne
7. Scratchin- Crash Crew
8. Ooh Baby (Short Version)- West Street Mob
9. Scorpio- Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
10. Making Cash Money- Busy Bee
11. Here Comes the Bride- The Sequence
1. Message II (Survival)- Melle Mel & Duke Bootee
2. Breaking Bells (Take Me To The Mardi Gras)- Crash Crew
3. Yes We Can-Can- Treacherous  Three
4. The Word is Out- Sugarhill Gang
5. New York New York- Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five
6. Girls- Sugarhill Gang
7. Kick It Live from 9 to 5- Sugarhill Gang
8. Break Dance Electric Boogie- West Street Mob
9. All Night Long (Waterbed)- Kevie Kev (Waterbed Kev)
10. At the Ice Arcade- Chilly Kids
11. White Lines (Don’t Don’t Do it)(Long Version)- Grandmaster Flash/Melle Mel
12. We Are Known as Emcees (We Turn the Party’s Out)- Crash Crew
1. Jesse- Grandmaster Melle Mel
2. Beat Street- Grandmaster Melle Mel & The Furious Five
3. Livin’ in the Fast Lane- Sugarhill Gang
4. We Don’t Work for Free- Grandmaster Melle Mel & The Furious Five
5. Step off- The Furious Five
6. Xmas Rap- Treacherous Three
7. Busy Bee’s Groove- Busy Bee
8. Turn it Up- Treacherous Three
9. The Down Beat- Sugarhill Gang
10. Vice- Grandmaster Melle Mel
11. Outta Control- Miracle Mike & The Ladies of the 80’s
12. Street Walker(Original Version)- Mass Production w/ Grandmaster Melle
13. The Message (’97 Dungeon Mix)- Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five


How happy was I when this set came out….This is a must have for any fan of the Sugar Hill Records sound.  The single disc best of really is only a taste of the tunes that came from this high powered label in the early 1980’s  In most cases you get the full versions of songs instead of the usually edits.  Everything from Flash and The Five to The Treacherous Three to Busy Bee.  Say what you want about the song that started it all, Sugar Hill Records is no joke when it comes to early recorded hip hop. –  JohnG

Frankly speaking, if you are truly interested in being a TRUE rap fan, this is probably the absolute most important box set of old school rap that has ever existed. We are talking about pre-run dmc days, before white folks got a chance to steal this stuff or really, even listen to it. The cuts on these albums are permeated with two very distinct themes that are overlooked and underdone in later pop rap albums. First, there is an excessive amount of “scratching” and to tell the truth, it is absolutely awesome. Back in the day, the original DJs out on the streets were out ther making art out of records and turntables. This can best be exenplified in tracks such as “Electric Boogie.” Second, there is an underlying feeling of political and social anger that really does not surface again until the emergence of the politically aware messages of Public Enemy in the late 1980s. The tracks here are mostly from the late 70s and early 80s and therefore exhibit the rap movement’s earliest and most raw (and legitimate) depictions of the hardships of urban black life during that time period. Unfortunately, the pop music world did an excellent job of sweeping most of this under the rug. But this box set is the real deal. I especially find the Christmas Rap” by the Treacherous Three to be an excellent example of this cynical aesthetic. Finally, the best part about this rap compilation is the fact that ALL, and I mean ALL, of it is groovin’ ass music. Let us not forget that no matter what, break dancing will always be cool and there is no better source of music than this box set to do the “Breakdance, electric boogie” (in robot voice of course) to. Submitted by t9bailey

Author: JohnG

Administrator of OldSchoolHipHop.Com

Share This Post On

1 Comment

  1. The first time I had sex, we were listening to “Baby Let’s Rap Now” by those smooth and sexy “Moments”.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *