True School Lyrical Lessons From The Rap Legends Volume 3 – Various Artists

Share This Post

True School Vol 3 Cover ArtLabel: K-Tel
Year: 1996

Click to Buy it From Amazon.Com

Song Listing

1. At the Party- The Treacherous Three
2. Starski, Live at the Disco Fever- Lovebug Starski
3. Problems of the World (Today)- Fearless Four
4. Fat Boys- Disco 3
5. Sucker SJ- Dimples D.
6. Genius Rap- Dr. Jeckyll & Mr. Hyde
7. How We Gonna Make the Black Nation Rise- Brother-D with Collective Effort
8. DMX will Rock- Davy DMX
9. Sucker M.C.’s (Krush Groove 1)- Run DMC


Not a bad collection of tracks.  Perhaps the most interesting thing about this disc (and the rest of this True School series) is the diversity and inclusion of lesser known groups and songs.  “At the Party” is in the classic party rocking records of the early 80’s. Lovebug Starski recordings are not exactly easy to find.  His addition, although way too brief, is the main attraction of this disc.  He has a very old school delivery utilizing several of the typical rhymes patterns of the era.

Fearless Four are known mostly for “Rockin’ It,” but “Problems…” is and effective social commentary along the same line as Grandmaster Flash and The Furious Five’s “The Message.” “Sucker DJ” by Dimples D. marks an early production effort of Marley Marl. Dr. Jeckyll and Mr. Hyde is another group that recordings are little difficult to come upon, and this track is a good party mover with a familiar keyboard backing. Davy DMX is one of hip hop’s early producers, and this track was one of his biggest (behind “One for the Treble”).  It features a group of female emcees. If you aren’t familiar with “Sucker M.C.’s,” you’ve got some learning to do.

You can probably find this disc pretty cheap, and if you are interesting in getting some harder to find songs I think it makes a good addition. – JohnG

Author: JohnG

Administrator of OldSchoolHipHop.Com

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *